Error "severe (157): Program Exception - access violation"

7 Posts
5 Users
2 Likes
Topic starter
(@dan-mnation)
Barista

Hi all,

Relative noob here. I am a student working on an impact test on a bicycle helmet design with a Biofidelic head model. I keep having issues in solving the study at a set point it crashes continually with an error "forrtl: severe (157): Program Exception - access violation". I have run successful tests in an identical setup with a ballast head model (no internal organs etc) with great results. I am wondering if anyone has any ideas as to what causes this problem. I have a suspicion that when I set up the head model in the current tests, there may be an issue with my contacts defined as I am still trying to get my head around the correct ones to use etc, but I have tried lots of different combinations to get this to work correctly with no success. Photo attached.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated 🙂 TIA!

-Dan

LS3
6 Replies

(@charu)
Student

Hi, usually its a problem with contact or material model used. I have found some info online. This may help.

https://www.researchgate.net/post/How_to_fix_error_forrtl_severe_157_Program_Exception-access_violation_when_use_LS_DYNA_Solver_in_Ansys

(@charu)
Student

also here is a good discussion on the same topic. you can use model checking tool in ls prepost to check if there is any error.

https://feassistant.com/forums/ls-dyna/what-may-be-the-cause-for-forrtl-severe-157-program-exception-access-violation-error-how-can-it-be-addressed/

(@geardyn-1)
Lab Tech

try to use mortar contact. check your unit consistency system ...

use the latest version of the solver . 

recently our team had did a similar case study ( attached is a ex pic)

if ok, try sharing the key file , i shall try to replicate & debug the issue : to 

geardyn.1@gmail.com

Helmet model

Negative Volume
Admin
(@negativevolume)
CEO

@dan-mnation